IamLibrarian


The Digital “Population”

Posted in Education,Technology by millerlibrarian on June 27, 2009

I’ve just been able to start reading Born Digital by John Palfrey and Urs Gasser and just the introduction has me thinking about so many different things.  This book seems like it is going to be really great and right on.  So, as I come across interesting points, I thought that I would share them and see what others think.

I usually cringe when people refer to the Net Generation and their technology use and/or skills.  I think that there is an assumption by some that this means that this group has advanced skills.  As a librarian, I immediately think of searching for information, databases, etc, and think – yeah, most don’t have these skills.

This book talks about those born after 1980 and instead of calling them a generation, they refer to them as a population, pointing to the fact that  “of the 6 billion people in the world only 1 billion even have access to digital technologies.”  The authors talk about the real issues and those that fear has turned into overreaction.

I look forward to sharing thoughts on this – have you read it?

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

