IamLibrarian


Participatory Librarianship

Posted in of interest by millerlibrarian on April 30, 2009

I have posted information about the Conversants conference that is launching today, and I was lucky enough to attend the keynote by R. David Lankes at Syracuse University on Tuesday.  Although the keynote is available in full at http://conversants.ning.com/, I wanted to share some of my comments and thoughts.

Dr. Lankes defined the mission of libraries as follows:  To improve society through facilitating knowledge creation in their communities. His mission is to transform the field to where librarians are valued for their credibility and intellect and not for the artifacts that they maintain. Anyone who has heard Dr. Lankes speak knows that he is inspiring and contagious.  I felt completely motivated into making these my mission.  Not the words, but the action; not as an immediate leader, but a change agent.

As a change agent, I am ready to use my innovation to change “my world:”  the people, places and things that are near me or within my reach.  I am reminded of a conversation that I had at a recent meeting that I attended:  we often think of things in the BIG picture right away and become completely overwhelmed; let’s stop this – focus on one area, an area here and now; a bullet point.  It is the combination of the parts that make the whole.

So how to do this:  through MY means of facilitation.  I will concentrate on the following areas – access, knowledge, environment (in which to engage), and motivation.  I will promote the library as defined by the reach of librarians.  I will continue having conversations with other librarians, students, LIS instructors, colleagues – anyone and everyone and I will listen.  I will listen to the examples and ideas of others and talk about the effects of what we do!

What do you think?

One Response to 'Participatory Librarianship'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Participatory Librarianship'.

  1. Sandy said,

    Talk about contagious, now I feel inspired! I can’t wait to read what you are doing. I need to define my librarian niche so I can spread “the reach of librarians”. Now I’m going to listen to R. Daivd Lankes keynote!


Leave a Reply

