IamLibrarian


Conversation is worth so much…

Posted in of interest by millerlibrarian on April 24, 2009

As I have already shared, I am doing quite a bit these days to get myself out there and lay a solid foundation for my career.  I cannot say how important networking and the related conversations mean to this.  I work in  a completely virtual environment, yet I have met and “know” so many people that I feel very fortunate.  I make it a point to network both f2f and online – the best of both worlds!

My most recent networking opportunities included a connection with my very own library system – Southern Tier Libary System (STLS).   I was a Youth Services Coordinator at my public library (part of this system) for several years and it was nice to reconnect.  I attended a Directors’ Meeting and gave a presentation on the IPL for Public Libraries.  They were very interested and I think that we will have many more meetings/talks about collaborating.  I am grateful for this opportunity.

Now, I am finishing a day including my first UNYSLA Board meeting and a very enjoyable networking dinner, in which I met and talked to several great people.  Tomorrow is the Spring Meeting, “Career Building and Staying Relevant in Trying Economic Times.”  What I love about meetings/conferences this size are the networking opportunities – we had dinner with some of the presenters (yay, Rachel Singer Gordon)!

Networking not only applies to professional ties – it gives faces and personalities to so many wonderful people.  I feel very lucky to be part of it all.

Leave a Reply

