IamLibrarian


Newspapers: on your door step or on the web

Posted in of interest by millerlibrarian on March 22, 2009

I have been following some discussion on a listserv that I subscribe to and there is much frustration about newspapers going out of print, but online.  For me, this is similar to having a fresh, unread, brand new book in my hand versus reading it on a screen (no matter how sleek the screen may be).  I came across this article in BusinessWeek:  Out with the Dead Wood for Newspapers.  I live in a rural community – our local newspaper is printed once a week and just this last week I saw an add in it for their new online presence.  How much longer will I be able to flip through the pages of our small paper (enjoying the first time opened, ink on your fingers and coffee cup experience)?  What do you think?

New info:  Newspapers: 5 Ways to avoid Extinction

Leave a Reply

